Home RMW News Release News Zeppelin To Release Unheard BBC Recordings

Zeppelin To Release Unheard BBC Recordings


In awesome news for all Led Zeppelin fans, the band is releasing a ‘lost song’ as part of a new box set of rare tracks.

The Complete BBC Sessions is a collection of 3 CDs selected from thezep sq legendary band’s live appearances on BBC radio between 1969 and 1971.

The highlight of the set has to be the debut of a long-lost radio session; for fans and collectors this lost session has achieved near-mythical status.

It was originally broadcast in April 1969, and the session included three songs: “I Can’t Quit You Baby” and “You Shook Me”, which both songs were taken from the band’s self titled debut album; and “Sunshine Woman”, which this session was the only recorded performance of the track.

The BBC wiped the session from its archive, so for fans it is somewhat of a holy grail for Zeppelin collectors.

Fortunately for the band and collectors, a fan had taped it from an AM radio in Europe when it was originally broadcast and since the tape surfaced, guitarist Jimmy Page has been working to fully restore it; allowing many fans to hear “Sunshine Woman” for the very first time.

Jimmy spoke about the band’s growth during these early recordings at the BBC Studios via an interview with Guitar World saying: “The BBC Sessions show in graphic detail just how organic the group was.

“Led Zeppelin was a band that would change things around substantially each time it played…We were becoming tighter and tighter, to the point of telepathy.”

Recalling the BBC experience in an interview with Mojo magazine, Robert Plant said: “The whole thing was very quaint: the politeness of the audience, the technicians fumbling about, proper hallowed low-key introductions. Like there was some sort of holy moment about to occur.”

The Complete BBC Sessions will be available in multiple formats from Atlantic/Swan Song from September 16th.

Check out the track listing below:


CD Track Listing

Disc One

  1. “You Shook Me”
  2. “I Can’t Quit You Baby”
  3. “Communication Breakdown”
  4. “Dazed and Confused”
  5. “The Girl I Love She Got Long Black Wavy Hair”
  6. “What Is And What Should Never Be”
  7. “Communication Breakdown”
  8. “Traveling Riverside Blues”
  9. “Whole Lotta Love”
  10. “Somethin’ Else”
  11. “Communication Breakdown”
  12. “I Can’t Quit You Baby”
  13. “You Shook Me”
  14. “How Many More Times”

Disc Two

  1. “Immigrant Song”
  2. “Heartbreaker”
  3. “Since I’ve Been Loving You”
  4. “Black Dog”
  5. “Dazed and Confused”
  6. “Stairway to Heaven”
  7. “Going To California”
  8. “That’s The Way”
  9. “Whole Lotta Love” (Medley: Boogie Chillun/Fixin’ To Die/That’s Alright Mama/A Mess of Blues)
  10. “Thank You”

Disc Three

  1. “Communication Breakdown” *
  2. “What Is And What Should Never Be” *
  3. “Dazed and Confused” *
  4. “White Summer” *
  5. “What Is And What Should Never Be” *
  6. “Communication Breakdown” *
  7. “I Can’t Quit You Baby” *
  8. “You Shook Me” *
  9. “Sunshine Woman” *

* Previously Unreleased

[x_video_embed type=”16:9″] [/x_video_embed]

zep long


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Lets Connect


Must Read

(Some Of) The Best Post-Punk Bands Ever

Post-punk is a broadly defined musical genre that emerged in the mid to late 70s. Bands began experimenting with a variety of musical genres...