Home RMW News Release News The Strokes Set To Release New Music

The Strokes Set To Release New Music


Here’s a little something for you Strokes fans. The band is all set to deliver new music next week in the form of a new four track EP called Future Present Past.strokes sq

The EP features three brand new songs, “Drag Queen”, “OBLIVIUS”, and “Threat of Joy” plus the addition of “OBLIVIUS (Fab Moretti Remix)”

The Future Present Past EP was recorded during the last year in both New York and Austin with producer Gus Oberg at the helm.

The EP will be released on Cult Records, this is the new indie label formed by The Strokes singer, Julian Casablancas. Overseeing the label, Casablancas runs the day to day and the label already has a nice looking roster featuring, The Strokes, Julian Casablancas+The Voidz, Albert Hammond Jr., and Karen O.

Speaking of his vision for the label, Casablancas said: “The ultimate goal is to turn Cult into this time machine that exists to make sure that bands like the Velvet Underground can be more popular and appreciated in their time vs. twenty years later,” adding: “I hope it can help deliver a supportive audience that makes cool and important art more commercial. It’s kind of super ambitious, but my long-term dream is to create connections between all the cooler, more underground radio stations, record stores, thrift shops, zines and blogs, and artists and fans to be part of a more unified thing.”

The Strokes Future Present Past will be released next week on June 3rd.

Check out the band’s first interview in 10 years below:

[x_video_embed type=”16:9″][/x_video_embed]

Photos: Getty

strokes long


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Lets Connect


Must Read

(Some Of) The Best Post-Punk Bands Ever

Post-punk is a broadly defined musical genre that emerged in the mid to late 70s. Bands began experimenting with a variety of musical genres...