Fleet Foxes Announce New Album ‘Crack-Up’

fleetfoxes3US folk rock band Fleet Foxes have finally revealed details about their upcoming 2017 album. The record (which has been in the works for almost three years) will be titled ‘Crack-Up’ and is due to be released on June 16.

Fleet Foxes made huge waves in the indie rock scene when they released their debut self-titled album back in 2008. Their 2011 follow up ‘Helplessness Blues’ helped extend the bands initial success; peaking at number two in the UK and number four on the Billboard 200.

At what seemed to be the peak of their popularity, Fleet Foxes seemingly disappeared from the limelight, lost their original drummer Josh Tillman (aka Father John Misty) and cast a huge question mark over the future of the band.

After years of speculation it was finally revealed in the summer of 2016 that the band had ended their hiatus and were working on their long awaited third studio album.

‘Crack-Up’ will be released on June 16 via Nonesuch Records. The majority of the album was recorded at Electric Lady Studios in New York and has been produced by band members Robin Pecknold and Skyler Skjelset. The album title is said to be inspired by the F Scott Fitzgerald essay of the same name.

So far one single has been released from the album titled ‘Third of May / Ōdaigahara’; a lavish nine minute epic containing the groups signature vocal harmonies and a Grizzly Bear-esque outro.

Here is the full track list for ‘Crack-Up’:

1 ‘I Am All That I Need / Arroyo Seco / Thumbprint Scar’
2 ‘Cassius’
3 ‘Naiads, Cassadies’
4 ‘Kept Woman’
5 ‘Third of May / Ōdaigahara’
6 ‘If You Need To, Keep Time on Me’
7 ‘Mearcstapa’
8 ‘On Another Ocean (January / June)’
9 ‘Fool’s Errand’
10 ‘I Should See Memphis’
11 ‘Crack-Up’

Photo: Getty

Related News