Black Kids Drop Comeback Single

reggieyoungblood1Florida indie rockers Black Kids are back with a brand new single. The track, titled ‘Obligatory Drugs’ is the band’s first release since 2014’s non-album track ‘Origami’, and could well be the first single from their long awaited second album.

Black Kids consists of guitarist Reggie Youngblood, bassist Owen Holmes, keyboard players Ali Youngblood and Dawn Watley, and drummer Kevin Snow. The band formed in Jacksonville, Florida in 2006. They gained a huge wave of popularity following their fantastic performance at Athens Popfest in 2007 and released their debut EP ‘Wizards of Ahhhs’ just one month later via Myspace. By the end of 2007, Black Kids had received top reviews from a number of influential publications including NME, Vice, The New York Times and Pitchfork. They were even included in Rolling Stones’ ’10 Artists to Watch’ list the following year.

The band released their first studio album ‘Partie Traumatic’ in July 2008 via Colombia Records. The album peaked at number five in the UK, and was included in numerous end of year honours lists. Their second EP ‘Cemetery Lips’ was released in 2009.

For a band with such a promising start and seemingly unstoppable trajectory, Black Kids disappeared into the wilderness, and have rarely been mentioned over the last few years.

However…. this could all change thanks to their fantastic new track ‘Obligatory Drugs’, which is a kind of mashup between Beck, MGMT and Oingo Boingo, with a sort of hip-hop vocal.

‘Obligatory Drugs’ is rumoured to be included on the band’s upcoming sophomore album, which is due to be released next year. If you’re a fan of left field experimental pop, this is well worth keeping an eye out for.

Photo: Getty

Related News