Home RMW News Release News Billy Idol to Re-release Vital Idol

Billy Idol to Re-release Vital Idol


In a world that was filled with hair-metal and rock anthems, Billy Idol’s mid-’80s album Vital Idol was refreshing to say the least. Yes, it was a rock album but the songs were dancefloor friendly and killed on the pop chart’s as well as rock.

Vital Idol was a collection of dance floor-friendly remixes, and now Idol is going back to the very same album and rereleasing the album as Vital Idol: Revitalized on September 28th.

Idol is taking the original album and giving it a serious modern feel by having some of his biggest songs remixed by various EDM producers.

As well as remixes, he has changed the running order of the album, there will be no “Love Calling,” and “Mony Mony” will only be available as a digital bonus track in the form of a new version by Idol’s guitarist and longtime co-writer Steve Stevens.

Instead of “Love Calling,” and “Mony Mony,” a Moby remix of “(Do Not) Stand in the Shadows,” Paul Oakenfold give his take on “One Breath Away,” Tropkillaz rework’s “Eyes Without a Face and Shiba San has done a remix of “Don’t Need a Gun” to take their place.

It doesn’t end there, also on the album will be the Lost Dog remix of “Save Me Now,” was created by a team that includes Idol’s son Willem Wolfe.

Revitalized will be available as a CD, as well as two LPs, with black vinyl and limited-edition colored vinyl arriving November 16th. You can check out the track listing below.

If you want to get a feel for the album you can check out RAC’s remix of “Dancing With Myself” below:

[x_video_embed type=”16:9″][/x_video_embed]

Billy Idol, ‘Vital Idol: Revitalized’ Track Listing
1. “White Wedding” (CRAY Remix)
2. “Dancing With Myself” (RAC Remix)
3. Eyes Without a Face (Tropkillaz Remix)
4. “Rebel Yell” (The Crystal Method Remix)
5. “(Do Not) Stand in the Shadows” (Moby Remix)
6. “Flesh for Fantasy” (St. Francis Hotel Remix)
7. “Catch My Fall” (Juan Maclean Remix)
8. “One Breath Away” (Paul Oakenfold Remix)
9. To Be a Lover (DJDS Remix)
10. “Don’t Need a Gun” (Shiba San Remix)
11. “Hot in the City” (Shotgun Mike Remix)

Digital Bonus Tracks
12. “Mony Mony” (Idol/Stevens Remix)
13. “One Breath Away” (Paul Oakenfold Extended Remix)
14. “(Do Not) Stand in the Shadows” (Moby Remix) (Half Time Version)
15. “Save Me Now” (Lost Dog Remix)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Lets Connect


Must Read

(Some Of) The Best Post-Punk Bands Ever

Post-punk is a broadly defined musical genre that emerged in the mid to late 70s. Bands began experimenting with a variety of musical genres...