Home RMW News Release News Eno Releases New Music Ahead Of New Album

Eno Releases New Music Ahead Of New Album


The man behind some of the charts biggest stars, Brian Eno has shared a new song from his forthcoming album, The Ship.

The producer who has credits with the likes of David Bowie, U2, Talking Heads, and Coldplay has released the 21-minute title track available to stream ahead of the album’s official release in April.

Brian Eno
Brian Eno

The production and songwriting genius explained in a press release: “The piece started as an Ambient work intended for a multi channel sound installation in Stockholm, but during the making of it I discovered that I could now sing a low C – which happens to be the root note of the piece.

“Getting older does have a few fringe benefits after all. From that point the work turned into an unusual kind of song…a type I’ve never made before where the vocal floats free, untethered to a rhythmic grid of any kind.”

The Ship will be Eno’s first release since his 2012 album Lux and will feature a cover of the Velvet Underground’s track “I’m Set Free”, which Eno has described as, “even more relevant now than it [was] then.”

To accompany the album’s release on April 29th, there will be a series of installations where listeners will be able to hear an “alternative telling of The Ship in multi-channel 3-dimensional sound installations”.

The Ship Tracklist:

  1. The Ship
  2. Fickle Sun (i) Fickle Sun (ii) The Hour Is Thin (iii) I’m Set Free

Check out the ‘The Ship’ below:

eno long


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Lets Connect


Must Read

(Some Of) The Best Post-Punk Bands Ever

Post-punk is a broadly defined musical genre that emerged in the mid to late 70s. Bands began experimenting with a variety of musical genres...