Happy Mondays Announce Greatest Hits Tour

happymondays2Happy Mondays have announced that they will be embarking on a huge tour of the UK to mark the 30th anniversary of their debut album ‘Squirrel and G-Man Twenty Four Hour Party People Plastic Face Carnt Smile (White Out)’. The Manchester band who reformed back in 2012 are set to hit the road on November 14.

The Happy Mondays will forever be remembered as one of pioneers of the ‘Madchester’ scene of the late 1980s and early 1990s. Despite not being as commercially successful as some of their contemporaries; The Mondays became well known for their legendary live performances led by iconic frontman Shaun Ryder and band mascot / dancer / percussionist / all round party animal Bez.

Plans for a full length Greatest Hits tour have been in the pipeline for the last few years; however, many fans were worried that it would never actually come to fruition. In a 2016 interview with NME, Shaun Ryder explained: “There’s six people in the Mondays who’ve all got an equal say and we’ve been arguing for 30 years about who’s the boss. It just takes longer to get done.”

Here is the full list of upcoming tour dates:

Tue November 14 2017 – BRISTOL O2 Academy Bristol
Wed November 15 2017 – BRIGHTON Dome
Thu November 16 2017 – LONDON Roundhouse
Fri November 17 2017 – CARDIFF Great Hall – Cardiff Uni
Sat November 18 2017 – PORTSMOUTH Pyramids Centre
Wed November 22 2017 – FOLKESTONE Leas Cliff Hall
Thu November 23 2017 – NORWICH UEA
Fri November 24 2017 – SOUTHEND Cliffs Pavilion
Sat November 25 2017 – CAMBRIDGE Corn Exchange
Tue November 28 2017 – PRESTON Guild Hall
Wed November 29 2017 – SCUNTHORPE Baths Hall
Thu November 30 2017 – CARLISLE Sands Centre
Fri December 01 2017 – LIVERPOOL Olympia
Sat December 02 2017 – LEEDS O2 Academy Leeds
Wed December 06 2017 – BIRMINGHAM O2 Institute
Thu December 07 2017 – LINCOLN Engine Shed
Fri December 08 2017 – NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE O2 Academy Newcastle
Sat December 09 2017 – NOTTINGHAM Rock City
Wed December 13 2017 – MANCHESTER Academy
Thu December 14 2017 – LLANDUDNO Venue Cymru
Fri December 15 2017 – DUBLIN Vicar Street
Wed December 20 2017 – ABERDEEN Beach Ballroom
Thu December 21 2017 – INVERNESS Ironworks
Fri December 22 2017 – KILMARNOCK Grand Hall
Sat December 23 2017 – GLASGOW O2 Academy Glasgow

Photo: Getty

Related News